Elements of Astrology: Fire, Earth, Air & Water Signs of Zodiac

Elements of Astrology: Fire, Earth, Air & Water Signs of Zodiac


The Zodiac signs and the elements are determined by your date of birth. The four elements of astrology Air, Fire, Water and Earth get assigned as per the season in which the Zodiac date of the person falls. Did you ever wonder what makes you different or what determines how a different set of people behave differently than the others? How does a group of people share common personality traits while others don’t? Or what determines the compatibility of one Zodiac sign with the other signs in astrology?

While a set of people are branded strong, determined, focused or stubborn ; others are adventure-seeking, creative and light-hearted than the rest. Elements govern each zodiac sign in a unique way, shaping them and having a major influence on who they are and how they behave with others. The influence and intensity of each element may be different on various people. The alignment of celestial bodies and stars at the time of our birth will have a profound impact on our character and disposition. Here we take you through an interesting read on how specific natural elements impact our lives and the ways in which we could use them to our advantage.

The Fire Signs of the Zodiac: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

The astrological signs that have the fire element ruling their chart are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.

A birth chart with a prominent fire element displays the exact characters that one can think of when assessing the aspects of fire itself. The fire Zodiac signs are confident, impulsive, passionate, enthusiastic, courageous and proud. It is difficult to limit or contain a fire sign. They have an ideal vision of life and love assuming a leadership position wherever they set foot. They do a great job in holding a team together.

These star signs don’t dwell on their pasts, crying over what’s lost. They live in the present and prepare themselves for the future. Their tempers could flare up quickly when things don’t go as planned. When they are threatened or sense mistrust and discomfort in a dangerous environment, they are capable of sending out sparks and exhibiting a destructive behavior.

The Air Signs of the Zodiac: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Air is everywhere. It gives us life. The air element has a major impact on those born under it. The Zodiac signs that possess the air element are: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.

In general, these star signs share the following personality traits: adaptability, communication, intellect, creativity and indecisiveness. They have an aura unlike other astrological signs that speaks of their understanding of the abstract knowledge that exists. They have a tough time making concrete decisions because they are so torn between the best of both worlds.

Always eager to learn, probe and analyze, their curiosity helps them dig deeper under the superficiality of any information. Trust them to share unique perspectives with you like no one else can.

They are compassionate and have the ability to understand an issue by putting themselves in someone else’s shoes. However, their moods could get hot or cold without prior notice. Their lives never follow an order and hence when controlled, they don’t work very well in their surroundings.

The Water Signs of the Zodiac: Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

Water is a life sustaining force of the universe. It has a major role to play in the functioning of the other elements of astrology too. Talk about depth, dreams, emotions, intuitions, free flow. The water element is that of these signs of the Zodiac: Pisces, Cancer and Scorpio showcase these traits in their personalities.

The symbols of all of these signs are water animals that draw life from fluid habitats. The zodiac signs with the water element get direction and shape when under the influence of other elements. They do not rely on logic to understand a situation. The Zodiac signs that have the influence of water belong to the feminine realm. They let their intuitions and the vibes reach conclusions on every matter of interest

They are private people, taking immense care before they place their trust in someone. They dig into a matter deep and seek answers within themselves. Their thoughts are spiritual and capable of healing people who they care about.

The Earth Signs of the Zodiac: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

The Earth element rules the Zodiac signs of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

They are the star signs that exhibit objectivity and reason everything that they do. The basic characteristics and personality traits the Earth signs commonly share are: pragmatism, materialism, stability, stubbornness and abundance.

They don’t live in a palace of illusions. They need things to be concrete, grounded in the real world. They are dependable and quite consistent in all their tasks. Sensuality is innate in earth element signs and they manage available resources skillfully.

They are hardworking and won’t stop unless their efforts are realized to fruition. They value routine, planned activities and need to feel in charge of their lives. However, the darker side of all the astrological signs that fall under the influence of the element earth is their stubbornness and inability to see past their understanding of things.


Maria Alifa

Maria Alifa


Astrologer for 15 years, I have been writing about Zodiac signs, their personalities, their psychology, their relationships, their passionate loves and their compatibility in love.